How to Cope with Stress

I’m prepping for an interview and one of the questions they want me to be prepared to answer is how I cope with stress. I figured I would share my answer with you all here.

1. Worst Possible Scenario

5b4ceb7457979d40c2b84c86362d6884

This might not work for everyone, but if you’re anything like me, you get really stressed and anxious about a lot of things. So, I use this to my advantage. I conjure up the worst possible outcome out of a given situation, hold onto it for a moment, then let it go. More often than you think, that worst possible scenario is not the worst possible scenario at all. The world won’t end, you keep going, and live to tell the tale later. Things are never as bad as they seem.

2. Take a Vacation (and, yes, you can)

2023eb66765c6a0d802a93e06244f212

Every day, I literally go on vacation. It’s actually quite easy. I will give myself fifteen minutes tops where I don’t look at the clock, I don’t think about my responsibilities or schedule, and go on mental vacation mode. I’ll do activities I know only take 10 minutes or so, like journaling, going for a walk, playing ukulele, having a dance party, yoga flow, drawing and just about anything else. It’s amazing what these mini vacations can do for you.

3. Hold onto Hope

de383bc785e37b657e610a02a332ff3f

I once heard the Vlogbrothers on YouTube mention that hope is an inexhaustible source of human energy. It never, ever runs out. I’ve met women who’s towns were bombed, and they are still here. I’ve met people who left everything behind and started a new life in a new country mostly on their own, and they are still chugging along. I am inspired by those who stay hopeful, and it reminds me to stay hopeful through just about anything.

Stay fearless, kind, and hopeful,

Marta

4 thoughts on “How to Cope with Stress

Leave a Reply

