Patience

If we are facing in the right direction, all we have to do is keep on walking. – Proverb

Today, I am feeling antsy. It feels like I have crumbs under my skin, and no matter how much I shake my arms, the crumbs stay in place. It is an uncomfortable, yet temporary feeling.

It feels as though I am a pebble running against the band of a slingshot, trying to jump a gap, but with every attempt at leaping forward, I fall right back into square one.

I suppose some call this suffering. Others would call it severe impatience. Have you ever seen yourself someplace already, and yet you are still ten steps behind? Your gut is saying you are ready, but the world around you is taking its sweet time catching up to you. It is frustrating, and it is inevitable. Sometimes, there really are very few things you can do to change your situation, and you simply have to keep moving forward.

I know that I am going the ‘right’ way, and I am facing the ‘right’ direction. I know where I am headed, but all the steps left to take between now and then are discouraging in some moments. It is both a great gift and a terrible curse to know who you are and what you want; the clarity of mind is wonderful, but the wait for a good thing to completely unfold can be unbearable.

This is how I feel right now, but it is the proverb above that is keeping me smiling, keeping me walking, and keeping my head from losing its bearings.

-Marta

2 thoughts on “Patience

  1. I completely understand what you mean in your “Decisions” post. Currently, I am infatuated with this amazing girl I met three weeks ago, and my headspace has been invaded. I do not want a relationship, but I am opening up more and more. However, I am on an aggressive track towards my success, and she’s taking away a lot of my time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

