Just Wanna Have Fun

Ever since the start of a college career, students are working and hacking away at required courses and studying their major. It is four years of nonstop moving, and then before you know it, you are out in the ‘real world’ recent graduates keep talking about. Instead of the usual four year path, I decided to graduate early. And then this year, I decided to wrap up my degree in three years. Now my education has truly become nonstop moving.

Sometimes, I wonder why I am doing this to myself. Why go for three years without taking a breath and without participating in the usual college fun? Why am I spending my summer doing school work when I could be spending it with my friends? Why am I living at home instead of at school?

I am frustrated at school. It isn’t a place for everyone, and I know that it isn’t the ideal place for me. Working is so much more rewarding and coming back to a traditional school environment after years of freedom has felt suffocating. But I had two choices: drag out the pain, or get it over with. And I chose the latter. What I’ve realized, however, is that for the last six months, all I have done is work. Everything has revolved around school or a job or an internship. I need to give myself a break.

I have always believed in working until you can barely work anymore, and then to keep going. But lately, that hasn’t been working too well for me. There needs to be more fun in my life, especially because I am working myself to the bone to get out of a situation I don’t want to be in anymore. Whether its a fun trip or playing ukulele or going outside, I need to give more time to myself.

-Marta

Leave a Reply

