Bring it, Summer

Today is my very first day of my internship, and I am so excited! I will be working with a microfinance social enterprise that uses microloans with little to no interest to assist low income individuals. Sounds a lot like the Grahmeen Bank, no? It is very much based off of that model.

The reason I am so excited is that I am finally going to be part of a working environment that is driven by measurable social impact. I have worked with nonprofits before, but it was mostly hosting campaigns at school when I could. This summer? I am literally in an office who’s sole purpose is to make on small part of the world a better place. Nothing has ever made me feel so alive as working toward making the world a better place in some way.

When I started college, I wasn’t into it. I changed my major five bajillion times because I couldn’t really find that ‘perfect fit’. Two semester ago, however, I discovered there was a sociology and service learning major. I did not even doubt myself or question my move to switch into that program. It was everything I had ever wanted out of an education, and it actually existed! To go to school and feel passionate about what I am doing with my time there has been a gift, even when a lot of those days get me down.

I just gotta focus, and keep my eyes on the prize. I am beyond stoked to get started on my adventures this summer.

Marta

Leave a Reply

