Reminders

Hugely key to achieving my personal happiness is the act of letting go. I am hardwired to hold onto things–that’s what happens when you tend to be an anxious person. As soon as I resolve one thing, I try to find another problem to tackle. This is great, but only when done mindfully. When I start holding on to dark ‘what ifs’ and negative feelings, or start thinking about something that made me sad or angry or jealous long ago, my mind gets stuck. It is very simple, but very hard, to let it all go and move on with my life.

Back in January, when I went to South America on a school trip, I had the time of my life. Traveling to new places sucks me into the moment, and I love it. It feels amazing to let go of worry and let beauty overwhelm me instead. While there, I got a tattoo, and it really is a representation of who I am, and who I strive to be. There’s a picture of it in this post. In short, this tattoo of a swallow represents acceptance of where I am now, and living in the present. It reminds me to let go of my worries, let them drift away instead of clinging to them as if that would resolve a problem that does not exist. It is a reminder to live without fear, because life is best lived outside of my comfort zone.

In less eloquent terms, YOLO. That is all folks. We got one life to live, and the only way to make the best of it is to live in the now.

-Marta

Leave a Reply

