Writer Mode = On

Besides this blog, I haven’t been up to much writing, and with that, my personal and professional writing life has plateaued. But only momentarily. Back in the fall,  I was participating in National Novel Writing Month, and wrote 26K words in one month with a full schedule of classes and 3o hours of work a week. It was the best and most in-the-moment month of my life, and I intend on making writing a more active part of my life. It is, after all, what I want to do for the long run.

So, I re-logged into my Medium account. I began sketching out writing goals. I am finding more time to write about things that I am trying to become more of an expert in, so that in the future I can be more publishable. For one reason or another, this semester caused me to forget about my passions. I grew distracted by the framework I had been squeezed into. I lost my purpose for a while.

My friend needed some motivation earlier. Like me, she is driven by passion and results, not money. She has a full time job, and she is launching her own company. Feeling discouraged at being stuck at a ‘real job’, she asked me for something inspiring. This is what I wrote to her:

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade until life gets tired of giving you lemons and starts giving you oranges. Oranges are way better than lemons. But soon you won’t want those either, so you’ll want raspberries. Your current job is just a bunch of lemons, but the more you keep at it, the better off you’ll be when you get to have those oranges.

Totally going to be in my first TED Talk.

-Marta

Leave a Reply

