Just Keep on Writing

When I first started working on NaNoWriMo, I could barely get 500 words out of my brain, through my fingers, and into a Word document in one hour. Today, I wrote over 800 words in just under thirty minutes. NaNo has taught me something very valuable: get all the words on the page. There is no such thing as bad words–let the creative juices flow.

This experience, though I am only ten days in, has been eye opening, and soul fueling. Never have I dedicated this much time into my writing. Never. Not even on past blogs. I pump out 2000 words or more everyday, and it is for me, no one else. It is refreshing to do something just for me, for the first time in a while.

This experience has empowered me to become a true writer, if that is what you could call it. Or at the very least, make writing a central piece to the daily life. What’s more, it feels good to be able to say, “hey, I’m writing a novel.”

It is hard work. I passed the 10k mark today, and have my eyes on surpassing the 50k mark by the month’s end. It’s not nearly as daunting as it seemed in the beginning. I just have to do one thing: keep on writing.

3 thoughts on “Just Keep on Writing

Leave a Reply

