Another Day

My favorite book – Everyday by David Levithan, just got a sequel. Honestly, I wasn’t too worried about how it’ll turn out. Even if Levithan just lists his grocery items I would read it. Anyway, it was the same story but from a different point of view.

The main character is “empty” and she tries to fill the space by dating someone who clearly doesn’t love her or even treat her right. This got me thinking about how I view a relationship. Is it having someone to talk to? Is it having someone just so that you don’t feel alone anymore? Why do we even commit to a relationship? Anyway, I was able to answer these questions while talking about this to my friend.

The thing is, I don’t want someone to fill those empty spaces in me. I want to be able to do that by myself. I want someone to be there for me, support me, be my cheerleader. I don’t want someone to feel obligated to “fix me”. I hate that term, you don’t need someone to save you. You can definitely take their help. A relationship should be two whole people coming together and bringing out the best in each other. Thats what I want.

Its hard to be so practical when you’re so desperately trying to find someone but I guess laying it out there gives us some perspective.

So, thank you once again, David Levithan. For being my guiding light. You da best.

Love,

Miti

P.S. Sorry for the late post, I have no excuse.

Leave a Reply

