The Long Way Back Home

Last night was the last night of the CUG Summer Exchange program, and the last night of travel for the next four months. It was a sharp reminder of the finite things in life, but also of the infinite things that can come out of life. As in, becoming close with a group of students who barely speak English fluently, and in two weeks, we all part ways. Who knows if I will ever see these students again? But that is not important.

I have lived a life of temporary relationships. As a military brat, I was always moving, always adapting, always going from one friend group to another. Any long term relationships I have sustained have been preserved via the Internet.

For the last few years, I’ve been in the same house for eight years, a really long time in my book. I have been able to build amazing relationships because of this, and even build my long distance friendships even more. But here’s the thing: no matter how many times I have done it, saying good-bye, or see you later, to anyone has been a very hard thing for me to do. Then again, it is a hard thing for anybody.

While I have only spent two weeks with these students, I am so thankful I got to have this little chunk of time to adventure around the USA with them. Our presence together may be short-lived, but the memories go on forever.

-Marta

P.S. The Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport is bumpin’.

Leave a Reply

