Be Selfish

One of the wonders about just browsing the internet with no specific goal is that it takes you the most random places. One such incident today landed me on a blog post which reviewed Kim Kardashian’s book Selfish. I have a very love/hate relationship with my perception of the Kardashian/Jenner clan. I am honestly in awe and intimidated by their lifestyle but also pissed off because they are oblivious.

But recently I have been restructuring the way I am thinking and I realised that I honestly have no business to judge how someone else is living their life. To think about it, Kim K is a fantastic business women – she has her own show, perfume and clothing line etc. And as for her obsession with herself, I think it takes a lot of courage to do that. Loving yourself so much to publish a book with intimate pictures of yourself when the whole world criticises you takes tremendous amounts of guts.

Kim K is my guru when it comes to learning how to love oneself. Putting yourself out there is a difficult thing but she does it so effortlessly. Honestly, I want to be more like her. I want to take a million pictures of myself and be unapologetic about the way I live my life.

So, lets embrace every thing good that people possess instead of attacking them for doing so. Hating on someone takes so much time and effort. Just be kind, I know you have it in you.

2 thoughts on “Be Selfish

  1. Dear Miti,
    I’ve decided to stop lurking and write my first comment, I don’t know how it will turn out, but I’m just going for it =) Your post made me think about my assumptions about celebrities , and since I have no definitive answers yet I have decided to only ask questions:
    Does Kim love herself? Does undergoing plastic surgery mean you love yourself less or more? What is the purpose of plastic surgery? What is the purpose of selfies? Is it mainly private (where the focus is on the expenience and on keeping a record of it)? Or is it public (where the focus is on the experienCER and the fact that they were somewhere or did something other people did not get to be or do)? Does it say anything about us that we take so many selfies? Does kim take only “pretty” selfies? Does she take any selfies that, for example, reflect the way she looks just after waking up, when the makeup and other magicks have not had time to set? Does that say anything about Kim’s love for herself? Is it possible to love your set too much? Does putting yourself out there mean that you approve of yourself? does it mean you’re seeking approval in others? both? neither?

    lots Of other questions still in my head, but I don’t want to make this overlong.

    Like

    1. Ok, let me start by answering the first questions. Yes, Kim does love herself, I mean to think about it she built an entire empire out of herself. That takes a lot of self reassurance and belief in oneself.
      You can never love yourself too much. I think that’s the beauty about loving yourself. Like if you love yourself you’re not hurting anyone and you get like a 1000% self confidence boost.
      Addressing the plastic surgery issue, it’s not a big deal. Kim k was not satisfied with the way she looked and she decided to do something about it. She could whine about the way she looks but instead she decided to act on it. That’s beautiful and again takes a lot of courage.
      I love selfies and honestly it the best thing that has happened to me. Let’s think about it, no one is ever satisfied with one selfie, so they are bound to take a multiple photos of themselves. In that moment they actually take time to look at themselves/their reflections and pose and basically just flatter themselves. And as for sharing those photos on social media. For some it is a validation and for others it’s simply just sharing bits and pieces of their lives. I am sure that Kim K did not start an Instagram account for the amount of likes she gets on her photos (because she was bound to get a huge response anyway) but just as a medium to share a piece of herself.
      I hope this answers your questions! And feel free to ask more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

