A Realization

I’ve been watching a lot of Casey Neistat videos, a vlogger and filmmaker on YouTube (which turned 10 years old today, by the way). This summer, I’ve be struggling to re-hone my focus. I’m taking summer classes, which is great, but it feels empty. I’m writing when I can, but most of my time is soaked up by school. I work part-time at my college’s bookstore, but right now, it’s on break. I need to make some cash before July, but no means and no time to generate income. I almost considered putting aside some of my passions until I could really devote time to them, some time, later.

But then, I was reminded of Casey’s story: he dropped out of high school, didn’t go to college, had a rough time when his girlfriend decided to leave him. But he found film, and the Internet, and kept making videos. He had no money; whatever he had saved up, he spent on a computer that had video editing software and moved to New York City. He gave everything he had to becoming a filmmaker. And he made it.

What I am trying to get at is this, and this is something my father told me yesterday: ‘If being a cashier at a grocery store part-time is going to get you where you’d like to be in a few years, apply for the job. But if writing and managing musicians and working at your internship are going to do that instead, do that; the money and everything else will come later.’

School kind of sucks right now. I have to do all these entry level classes to get to the classes I really care about. I don’t even enjoy sitting around for hours a day in classrooms, where all I can hear are cell phones, the sound of unmotivated silence, and a lecturing professor. I don’t feel inspired here, and I’m not working directly toward where I’d like to be. But I’m going to do my best, stick out these summer classes and one more semester of school, and see where I’m at. But I won’t apply to dead end, part time jobs that aren’t relevant to my future. I need to focus on my passions.

Marta

One thought on “A Realization

Leave a Reply

